U.S. Political News

November 17, 2010

Senator Lisa Murkowski Wins Senate Race

Senator Lisa Murkowki (R-Alaska) beat Sarah Palin's Tea Party-backed candidate Joe Miller to retain her Senate seat. She has a lead of 10,000 votes, which is amazing considering that she ran as a write-in candidate.  Joe Miller is challenging about 8,000 votes for "misspellings, extra words or legibility." 

The Senator flew home to Alaska to make her victory speech.

Bet Palin didn't see this coming in her  teas leaves.  She is one Alaskan who won't be at the victory party. Former Alaskan Governor Sarah Palin and Lisa Murkowski are bitter rivals.

The feud goes back to 2002 when Senator Frank Murkowski vacated his Senate seat to run for governor. He won the governor's office, and as governor he had the responsibility of appointing someone to complete the rest of his Senate term. He choose his daughter, Lisa over Sarah Palin, who at the time was the Mayor of Wasilla.  In 2006, Palin beat Frank Murkowski in the primary for governor.  When Palin resigned Murkowski had harsh words for her:
“I am deeply disappointed that the governor has decided to abandon the state and her constituents before her term has concluded,” she said.
Palin attacked Senator Murkowski in robo-calls in the last days before the primary vote.

Last week Senator Murkowski told Katie Couric that she didn't believe Palin was qualified to be president and stated that Palin "lacked intellectual curiosity, and "leadership qualities."

Senator Murkowski is well-versed on CNMI issues.

Democrats Keep Nancy Pelosi as Leader in House

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) has maintained a leadership position in the House. With the loss of 60 Democratic seats in the mid-term election earlier this month, Republican gained the majority in the House. Rep. John Boehner (R-Ohio) will be the new speaker of the House.